Accepting Applicants until May 20, 2020 | Winners Announced June 1, 2020.

The Justin Gimelstob

Scholarship Program

College Scholarships for student Athletes in North America

2020 Scholarship winners

Justin Gimelstob Proudly Announces Scholarship Program Recipients

Justin Gimelstob is proud to announce that his scholarship program has awarded $20,000 to a total of 15 high school and college athletes to help further their education. Originally poised to benefit three students, Gimelstob chose to award 15 scholarships due to an overwhelming response from qualified and compelling applicants.

First Place Prize
Second Place Prize
Third Place Prize

Meet Justin Gimelstob

Justin is an American philanthropist and retired professional tennis player. In January 1995, Justin joined the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) on a tennis scholarship backed by his exceptional athletic achievements. One year after joining UCLA, he turned pro and left to pursue his professional tennis career. After retiring from pro tennis, Justin returned to UCLA where he is currently taking part-time classes majoring in history.

In early 2020, Justin announced his scholarship for student athletes. He knows firsthand and appreciates the challenges student athletes face balancing their athletic and academic goals. This scholarship is Justin’s way of supporting athletes through this difficult yet rewarding time.

How to Apply

Are you a collegiate student athlete in North America? You could win one of three scholarship prizes! Follow the steps below and submit your application.


Proof of Enrollment

Applicants must submit proof of enrollment in the form of an acceptance letter or class schedule in order to be eligible and considered for the scholarship.


Essay Application

Applicants must submit an essay of 500 words that includes their chosen field of study, athletic activities and/or sports teams they are part of. 


Time to Submit

It’s time to apply! The applicants that fulfill the eligibility requirements and write the most intriguing essays will be awarded one of the three prizes.